4 Antworten anzeigen - 1 bis 4 (von insgesamt 4)
  • Autor
    Johann Schuster
    Participant

I’m currently trying to split up the severity evaluation catalogue of a product FMEA according to functional and legal requirements. For the legal requirements, only two points remain:

noncompliance with goverment regulation without warning [10]
    noncompliance with goverment regulation with warning [9]

My question is: What does ‚warning‘ mean here? In the safety context it is clear what a warning should be (i.e. driver shall be warned), but in the legal context it’s not so clear (at least not to me). I would like to strictly distinguish between 9 and 10.

Maybe you can share your thoughts. Thank you in advance.

Jürgen Eilers
    Keymaster

I am not a lawyer but if you first make a difference S=10 = without warning and S=9 = with warning and then think about the technical and legal aspect.
    This would mean that the product will be unsafe or not legal and both numbers could be choosen (S=10 or S=9).

From my viewpoint S=9 has to be chosen when the driver or engineer will be aware of the problem but has the chance to make the decision to accept for the moment the situation and use / operate an unsafe or illegal product.

I am only wondering what kind of implications this has from the design engineer’s viewpoint.

Example: Emissions are above the legal limit when accelerating very rapidly. Design engineer knows that this will happen systematically when using fuel with bad quality. There is the possibility to detect the bad fuel quality during operation and there is also the possibility to detect that only with a reduced acceleration in combination with the bad fuel the system will be still legal.
    Not legal without warning: The user has no idea that bad fuel quality is in use. The user has no information that he should not accelerate very fast because the emissions would be illegal.